First Day

Tomorrow is the first day of school: the first day of school where I’ll be getting paid to teach. Binders for each subject have been made, new planner has been filled out, colored pens have been purchased, and a weeks’ worth of math keys have been made. I am ready. I am excited. I am thankful.

Deciding what I wanted to do with my life was quite the journey for something that now seems so natural to me. It took two years of college and continuing to enroll in math classes just for fun for me to find my passion in life. Sitting in my Calculus Two course my sophomore year of college I realized how unbelievably frustrating math can be, and in that moment I was hooked. I fell in love with the puzzle and curiosity of math. I fell in love with the way I could spend hours struggling with a concept and suddenly a light bulb would go off and that sense of accomplishment was unrivaled to anything else I had ever experienced. This feeling started to remind me of something I had experienced in the past. I started to remember in other math classes that I took how I would help friends and peers and the feeling I got when they experienced their own light bulb was incomparably better (and stronger) than my own sense of accomplishment. And just like that, I settled on my career path: High school mathematics teacher.

I come home every day, even the not so good days, knowing that this is exactly what I want to do for the rest of my life and I am so thankful that I can experience that feeling. Tomorrow might not be the first day in my own classroom, that momentous occasion is a few months away, but tomorrow is still a day worth celebrating. It is the start of a job that I love and a job I get PAID for.

Leave a Reply

